School District Teachers, Principals Honored by Lindback Foundation for Excellence in Education

Posted on May 6, 2020
Tags: , , ,
Categories: Press Releases

PHILADELPHIA — Sixty teachers and seven principals from The School District of Philadelphia have received annual recognition by the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation. The announcement of the Lindback Awards comes during National Teacher Appreciation Week, which runs from May 4 through May 8.

The Lindback Award for Distinguished Principal Leadership recognizes principals who have made significant leadership and humanitarian contributions to their schools and communities, while the Lindback Award for Distinguished Public Teachers is reserved for educators who demonstrate excellence in promoting learning at the highest levels.

“Our award-winning teachers and principals have truly gone above and beyond this school year,” said Superintendent William R. Hite, Jr., Ed.D. “They are continuing to support our students and families during this difficult time through digital learning. While it is unfortunate that we cannot all be together to celebrate the winners at their respective ceremonies, we applaud these fantastic educators and thank the Lindback Foundation for their generosity, year after year.”

Given annually by the Lindback Foundation since 2008, the award for teachers includes a $3,500 stipend. The award for principals was established in 2011 and is accompanied by a $20,000 stipend for the principal to use to improve their school community.

“The Lindback Foundation is proud to present its distinguished Principals Award to this year’s outstanding recipients,” said Lindback Foundation Trustee Sheldon M. Bonovitz. “These principals have shown extraordinary dedication, leadership and empathy in leading their respective schools in these most challenging times.”

“In these unprecedented times the Lindback Foundation remains even more committed to the importance of education and our educators as they confront even greater challenges in providing learning opportunities and support to their students,” said Lindback Foundation Trustee David Loder. “We are proud to recognize the excellence, dedication and commitment of  our teachers through our Distinguished Teacher awards for their ongoing service to the many young students in our public schools who will help shape the future of Philadelphia.”

“Great teachers and principals shape our city’s future by teaching, nurturing, and championing their students,” said Mayor Jim Kenney. “They’re not only content experts and administrators; they’re role models, leaders, and mentors. The power of a strong school community with dedicated staff has never been clearer than in recent weeks, when our schools have moved online and our teachers and principals have adapted quickly to support students during an uncertain time. This year’s distinguished teachers and principals represent the best of the best in a demanding and vital profession, and I am very grateful to each one of them for their dedication to our city’s children.”

More information about the Lindback Foundation can be found online at

The award winners are as follows:


Siouda Douglas, A.S. Jenks School; Tamara Edwards, Thomas K. Finletter School; Leslie Mason, Thomas Mifflin School; Dr. James Murray, William Rowen School; Anh Nguyen, Parkway Center City Middle College; Shakeera Warthen, Amedee F. Bregy School; and Barbara Wells, Pennypack House School.


Danina Garcia-Fuller, Vaux Big Picture High School; Kimberly Nolan, Solis-Cohen Elementary School; Jennifer McKenzie, Henry H. Houston Elementary School; Christopher Angelini, Crossroads Accelerated Academy; Damali Best, Penrose Elementary School; Brittany Jakubowski, Nebinger Elementary School; Victoria Erickson, Kensington High School; Catherine Fredericks, Moffet Elementary School; Clarice Brazas, The U School.

Cory Perewiznyk, The Philadelphia Military Academy High School; Erin Giorgio, Science Leadership Academy; Terese Gallen, Swenson Arts and Technology High School; Judy Starr, Joseph J. Greenberg Elementary School; Gregory Smith, W.B. Saul High School of Agricultural Sciences; Gregory Mirakian, Jay Cooke Elementary School; Colleen Hanna, Horace Howard Furness High School; Erin Hoeffel, Watson T. Comly Elementary School; Jennifer Pettinelli, South Philadelphia High School.

Jenifer Felix, Kensington Health Sciences Academy; Jessica Friedman, Pennypack House School; Christine Jordan, Anne Frank School; Rosemaria Kalogerakis, Roxborough High School; Karen Carrigan, Fox Chase Elementary School; Kathryn Harris, Olney Elementary School; Katie Ryan, Andrew Jackson Elementary School; Keziah Ridgeway, Northeast High School; Kristen Peeples, Kensington Creative and Performing Arts High School; Dr. Lorna Schwartz, H.A. Brown School.

Lori Petrozino, Horatio B. Hackett School; Laura Vu, Potter-Thomas School; Leah Pearson, Overbrook High School; Carol Graham, A.S. Jenks School; Michael Rocco, William C. Longstreth Elementary School; Malvin Carrion, Samuel Fels High School; Rajitha Maley, John Bartram High School; Marina Isakowitz, The Workshop School; Maritza Gonzalez, Philadelphia Learning Academy North; Mary Connaghan, Science Leadership Academy @ Beeber.

Meredith Schecter, Charles W. Henry School; Robin Mixon, William W. Bodine High School for International Affairs; Walter Myrick, AMY Northwest School; Peter Metcalfe, Eliza B. Kirkbride School; Luke Prendergast, Jules E. Mastbaum High School; Qiana Pray, Academy at Palumbo; Rachel Rodríguez, Central High School; Sharon Renz, Girard Academic Music Program; Robert Goral, Potter-Thomas School; Dr. Robert Rivera-Amezola, Francis Scott Key Elementary School.

Robert Signs, Constitution High School; Thorayya Saber, Lankenau Environmental Science Magnet High School; Sally Wojcik, Arts Academy at Benjamin Rush; Selina Carrera, Philadelphia Juvenile Justice Service Center School; Sharon McKnight, School of the Future; Stacy Schwab, John Hancock Demonstration School; Steven Gilligan, Julia R. Masterman Laboratory and Demonstration School; Tanya Guy, G.W. Childs School; Delilah Baines-Washington, Francis Scott Key Elementary School; Tracy Parente, Baldi, Central, Holme, Finletter, Franklin K-8 and FitzPatrick schools; Paul Wagenhoffer, G.W. Carver Engineering and Science High School; and Wendy Gartside, Conwell Middle School.