School District Teachers Honored by Lindback Foundation for Excellence in Education

Posted on March 28, 2018
Categories: News from SDP

PHILADELPHIA — Nearly sixty teachers from The School District of Philadelphia have received the annual Lindback Award for Distinguished Public Teachers.

“These award-winning teachers go above and beyond to support students both inside and outside the classroom,” said Dr. William R. Hite, Superintendent of The School District of Philadelphia. “Their leadership, commitment and persistence make them distinguished educators who have gained the respect of their school communities. We are thankful for their dedication and congratulate them all on their achievements.”

The awards were handed out to 59 teachers today at a ceremony at the Prince Theater in Center City. Speakers at today’s event included Dr. Hite; Otis Hackney, Chief Education Officer of The City of Philadelphia; and Sheldon Bonovitz, Lindback Foundation trustee. Hite also shared a message from Governor Tom Wolf and First Lady Frances Wolf, who sent their congratulations to teachers in a letter.

Given annually by the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation since 2008, the award recognizes exemplary teachers in the District and includes a $3,500 stipend.

Last month, the Foundation honored seven principals who have made significant leadership and humanitarian contributions to their schools and communities. The Lindback Award for Distinguished Principal Leadership included a $20,000 stipend to benefit each school community.




Erica Adkinson, McMichael Elementary School; Evelyn Albert, Fox Chase Elementary; Stephanie Burgos, H.A. Brown Elementary School; Dana Cohen, Greenberg Elementary School; Lindsey Coyne, Lea Elementary School; Janice Dawson, Feltonville Intermediate School; Robyn Desher, Comly Elementary School; Orissa El-Adams, W.D. Kelley Elementary School; Jennifer Gallagher, Widener Memorial; Rosemary Leslie, Childs Elementary School; Heather Lincoln, Nebinger Elementary School; Marika Meekins, Penrose Elementary School; Susan Myers, Chester A. Arthur Elementary School; Jennifer O’Shaughnessy, Southwark Elementary School; Roksana Potocki, Holme Elementary School; and Christopher Powers, Powel Elementary School.


Concetta D’Alessandro, Andrew Jackson School; Donna Dodd, Houston Elementary School; Darlene Kelsey, Olney Elementary School; Dr. Carol Marion, Hartranft School; Drew Orlowski, McCall School; Angelica Ramirez, Julia de Burgos School; Zahmu Sankofa, AMY at James Martin Middle School; Anita Solis-Cohen, Julia Masterman School; and Natasha Williams, Conwell Middle School.


Nichole Akinwande, Philadelphia High School for Girls; Lauren Ashby, Frankford High School; David Beck, Kensington Health Sciences Academy; Christina Blankenship, Girard Academic Music Program; Sandra Casimir, Martin Luther King High School; Alicia Conquest, School of the Future; Ashley Cook, Swenson High School; Paula Crawford, The U School; Eric Cruz, Kensington High School; Assunta Curto-Kushnir, Northeast High School; Karen Epps, Science Leadership Academy at Beeber; Catherine Fox, Franklin Learning Center; Emilie Frechie, Philadelphia High School for the Creative and Performing Arts; Amal Giknis, Science Leadership Academy; Shannon Hogan, G.W. Carver High School for Engineering and Science; Anna Kates, The Arts Academy at Benjamin Rush; Marjorie Kloss, Dobbins High School; Heather La Pera, Randolph High School; Chloe Leech, Constitution High School; Peter Matranga, Lankenau High School; Kevin Maye, Philadelphia Learning Academy South; Meghan McCabe, Academy at Palumbo; Theresa Murphy, The LINC; Keith Newman, Robeson High School for Human Services; Boris Ovetsky, Central High School; Alicia Owen, Edison High School; Maria Pandolfi, Philadelphia Juvenile Justice Services Center School; Kate Reber, Bodine High School; Ezechial Thurman, Hill-Freedman World Academy; Kerri Todd, Penn Treaty High School; Alan Tso, Furness High School; Michael Turchi, Lincoln High School; Shellene Welsh, Philadelphia Military Academy; and Rebecca Yacker, Roxborough High School.