School District Teachers Honored by Lindback Foundation for Excellence in Education

Posted on May 24, 2019
Categories: News from SDP

PHILADELPHIA — Sixty teachers from The School District of Philadelphia have received the annual Lindback Award for Distinguished Public Teachers.

“Today we celebrate excellence in teaching and the amazing educators who serve our students each and every day,” said Dr. William R. Hite, superintendent. “This award is a testament to their hard work, leadership and commitment to our students. These teachers go above and beyond to make sure our students feel safe, valued and supported. We are thankful for their dedication and congratulate them all on their achievements.”

The awards were handed out to 60 teachers today at a ceremony at the Philadelphia Film Center in Center City. Speakers at today’s event included Dr. Hite; Otis Hackney, Chief Education Officer of The City of Philadelphia; Dr. David Volkman, Executive Deputy Secretary, the Pennsylvania Department of Education; Jonathan Weiner, Lindback Foundation trustee; and Dr. Christopher McGinley, member of the Board of Education. Students from the Arts Academy at Benjamin Rush Vocal Ensemble also performed under the direction of their Lindback Award-winning teacher, Suzanne Spencer.

Given annually by the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation since 2008, the award recognizes exemplary teachers in the District and includes a $3,500 stipend.

In April, the Foundation honored seven principals who made significant leadership and humanitarian contributions to their schools. The Lindback Award for Distinguished Principal Leadership included a $20,000 stipend to benefit each school community.


Caitlin Kay, Academy at Palumbo; Rebecca Haldeman-Newschaffer, AMY Northwest Middle School; Gina Weightman, Anne Frank Elementary; Suzanne Spencer, the Arts Academy at Benjamin Rush; Denise Eiler, C.C.A. Baldi Middle School; Ben Blazer, Central High School; Nicole Paulino-Trisdorfer, Charles W. Henry Elementary School; Alicia Rosman, Chester Arthur Elementary School; Brittni Jennings, Constitution High School; Darryl Walker, Crossroads Accelerated Academy; Catherine Baker, Dr. Ethel Allen School; Anne Olvera, E.M. Stanton Elementary.

Rachael Pringle, Fitler Academics Plus; Lorena Meskill, Francis Scott Key School; Kristen DeGregorio, Frankford High School; Jonathan Feinman, G.W. Childs Elementary School; Richelle Kamper, Girard Academic Music Program; Caroline Pomrink, George W. Nebinger Elementary School; Janel Moore-Almond, the George Washington Carver High School of Engineering and Science; Kathy Paul, George Washington High School; Marie Clarke, Henry C. Lea Elementary; Deanna Henderson, Henry Houston Elementary; Alexander Bouwman, High School of the Future; Jane Cordero, Hill-Freedman World Academy.

Ryan Sullivan, James R. Ludlow Elementary; Anne Nachman, John F. McCloskey School; Amanda Thornton, Joseph Greenberg School; Nicole Sabatino, Julia de Burgos School; Mikaela Lerer, Julia R. Masterman Laboratory and Demonstration School; Nikki Dunn, Kensington Health Sciences Academy; Jan Cohen, Kensington High School; Yoon Byun, Kirkbride Elementary School; Kim Joseph, Laura Waring Elementary School; Michelle Grey, Lankenau Environmental Science Magnet High School; Bernard “John” Stuetz, Mayfair Elementary School; Margaret “Meg” Merlini, McCall Elementary School; Omar Ali, Northeast High School.

Kate Mullen, Overbrook Educational Center; Elana Evans, Paul Robeson High School for Human Services; Janet Correa, Pennypack House School; Jennifer Spano Kalish, Penrose School; Winifred Jenkins, Philadelphia Military Academy; Carlos Peterson, Philadelphia Juvenile Justice Services Center; Patrice Morris, Potter-Thomas School; Karen Reina, Randolph Technical High School; Frank Fesnak, Roxborough High School; Pearl Jonas, Science Leadership Academy; Louis Russo, South Philadelphia High School; Kathleen Butler Hayes, South Philadelphia High School; Lisa Lynch, Swenson High School.

Erin Guilfoyle, The LINC; Maria Stevens, the Philadelphia High School for the Creative & Performing Arts; Megan McNamara, the Philadelphia High School for Girls; Freda Anderson, the U School; Dr. Brandon Miller, the Workshop School; Phyllis Whitman, Thomas Edison High School; Gail Koskela, W.B. Saul High School; Tonya Oniyama, West Philadelphia High School; and Marita Fitzpatrick, William W. Bodine High School for International Affairs.