Posted on May 25, 2022
Tags: ,
Categories: News from SDP

A total of 60 teachers will each receive a $3,500 cash award

The School District of Philadelphia and the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation of Philadelphia have selected 60 teachers to receive the 2022 Lindback Award for Distinguished Teachers. The award, which has been generously funded by the Lindback Foundation since 2011, is an opportunity for exceptional teachers from District schools to be recognized for their dedication to public school students. Recipients also receive a $3,500 cash award.

The 2022 Lindback Award for Distinguished Teachers are:

Alandra Abrams, Tilden Middle School
Annabelle Lyons, Constitution High School
Antoinette L. Davis, Arts Academy At Benjamin Rush
Brian Rost, Philadelphia Juvenile Justice Services Center
Carey Black, Ethan Allen School
Carl Jackson, Charles W. Henry School
Christopher Nevrincean, Watson Comly School
Craig Robinson, Swenson Arts Technical High School
Dana Williams, Franklin Learning Center
David Shapiro,  Julia R. Masterman High School
Dawn Geiger, Roxborough High School
Denise Jordan, John Barry Elementary School
Diane Balanovich, Mary Bethune Mcleod School
Diedre Cooper, Laura H. School Carnell
Dr. Aimee Davis, Horace Furness High School
Ebonie Thorpe, James R. Ludlow School
Ericka Moore, The Northeast Community Propel Academy
Jacqueline Metz, Horatio B. Hackett School
Jacquelyn Mengel, George W. Nebinger School
Jenna Beck, Vare-Washington School
Jennifer Johnson, Vaux Big Picture High School
Jesse Hallowell, Henry H. Houston School
Jessica Villanueva-McCollum, West Philadelphia High School
John Burks-Silver, Chester A. Arthur School
Joseph Fafara, William L. Sayre High School
Joseph Schreiber, Engineering & Science High School
Joy Gauthney,  Cook-Wissahickon School
Julie Pudlo, Solomon Solis-Cohen School
June Freifelder, Hill-Freedman World Academy
Kate Melnick, George W. Childs School
Kimberly WalkeR, Jules E. Mastbaum High School
Kristian Ogungbemi, Kensington Health Sciences
Kristin Luebbert, The U School
Lattonia Robichaw, General Philip Kearny School
Lauren MacDonald, Henry H. Houston School
Lisa Cephas, Abraham Lincoln High School
Lisa Kelly, Lankenau High School
LoAn Nguyen-Ngo, Eliza B. Kirkbride School
Lori Harkins, Henry A. Brown School
Marie Ames, Frances E. Willard School
Marissa Bakst, William H. Hunter School
Maureen Quinn, Paul Robeson High School
Melissa Moran, Science Leadership Academy @ Beeber
Meredith Seung Mee Buse, Vare-Washington Elementary
Nicole Caucci, George Sharswood School
Patricia Blankemeyer, Widener Memorial School
Rachel Kohan-Garvey, Academy At Palumbo
Raymond Brettle, Hancock Demonstration School
Samantha Torjman, Parkway Northwest High School
Sarah Beverly, Henry C. Lea School
Shanelle Lockhart, Kensington High School
Sheila Fisher, Robert E. Lamberton School
Sunila Gorde, Overbrook High School
Susan Colber, William H. Ziegler School
Suzanne Newman,  John F. Mccloskey School
Suzanne Walsh, The LINC
Tara Williams, Philip H. Sheridan School
Timothy Tracy, Philadelphia High School For Girls
Travien Bryson, Laura H. Carnell School
Zahra Tees, Northeast High School

Each year, the award recipients are celebrated during an in-person reception, but since planning for the event started last fall when COVID-19 cases were higher and more restrictions were in place, the foundation decided to keep the 2022 ceremony virtual. This year’s ceremony and celebration took place virtually on Tuesday, May 24 via the District’s Facebook Page.

“Teachers have always been difference-makers in the lives of our students, reaching students well beyond their work in the classroom,” said Superintendent William R. Hite, Jr., Ed.D. “These last few years, our teachers have truly gone above and beyond to support the academic and social-emotional needs of our students during these unprecedented times.”

“We truly appreciate the Lindback Foundation for their continued commitment in helping us honor and show gratitude to our teachers for their commitment to educating, supporting, mentoring and nurturing our students,” Hite added. “It’s clear that the Lindback Foundation and its trustees understand the positive impact that exceptional teachers can have on our students, school communities and society.”

Lindback Foundation Trustee David Loder echoed Hite’s remarks.

“In these unprecedented and challenging times confronting COVID, as well as  infrastructure and resource issues, these outstanding teachers deserve this Lindback Award recognition and our collective thanks for their continuing commitment, perseverance and efforts to educate and support their students, schools and communities,” Loder said.

The Lindback Foundation’s Selection Committee chose the 60 teachers based on their leadership and humanitarian contributions to their respective school communities. The Foundation also honors principals with the Lindback Award for Distinguished Principals and celebrated a group of seven winners last month. Those school leaders were each presented with a $20,000 stipend to be used to support each winner’s school community.

For more information, visit


The Foundation was initially established by a testamentary gift in trust under the will of Christian R. Lindback. The Foundation’s individual and corporate trustees were given broad discretion to support charitable purposes within the territorial United States. Educational goals and the support of distressed individuals in the City of Philadelphia through existing charitable organizations were given emphasis. The trustees have focused discretionary grant attention on the Greater Philadelphia area, including South Jersey. Since 1961, the Foundation has been recognizing outstanding faculty members at colleges and universities in Pennsylvania and New Jersey with the Lindback Award for Distinguished Teaching. Currently 52 institutions of higher learning are participating in the program. Peruse the curriculum vitae of Lindback Award recipients and you will note that the award is mentioned proudly and prominently, attesting to the universal prestige associated with the honor.