Posted on April 16, 2024
Categories: News from SDP

The School District of Philadelphia and the Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation of Philadelphia presented seven District principals with the 2024 Lindback Award for Distinguished Principals at an award ceremony Tuesday night at the Philadelphia Film Society. The award, which has been generously funded by the Lindback Foundation since 2011, recognizes school leaders for their dedication to District students. Recipients also receive a $20,000 award to be used in their school community.

The 2024 Lindback Award for Distinguished Principals are:

  • Khadijah Bright, Ed.D. (Kennedy C. Crossan School)
  • Kimlime Chek-Taylor (South Philadelphia High School)
  • Bahir Hayes (William C. Bryant School)
  • Rich Mitchell (William B. Bodine High School for International Affairs)
  • Khary Moody, Ed.D. (James R. Ludlow School)
  • Torrence Rothmiller (Andrew Hamilton School)
  • Corinne Scioli (J.S. Jenks Academy of Arts & Sciences).

The event featured congratulatory remarks, performances from students at High School for the Creative and Performing Arts and a reception for guests.

“I’m honored to celebrate these seven distinguished principals, who have shown a deep commitment to their staff, students and families and are working hard to accelerate student academic achievement,” said Tony B. Watlington, Sr., Ed.D., Superintendent for the School District of Philadelphia. “I’m grateful to the Lindback Foundation and its trustees who understand the impact a great leader has on our school communities and continue to honor that work with recognition and provide the stipend to benefit the school community.”

Members of the community were able to nominate principals from District schools. Seven principals were then selected from the pool of nominees by the Lindback Foundation’s Selection Committee based on their leadership and humanitarian contributions to their respective school communities.

“The Lindback Foundation is pleased to recognize this year’s class of distinguished principals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and commitment to their schools and communitie,” said David E. Loder, Lindback Trustee. “They are critically important to providing leadership and serving as role models to the teachers and students they serve. We support them and their mission to better educate students today and in the future and thank them for their efforts.”

The Foundation also honors teachers with the Lindback Award for Distinguished Teachers. A total of 60 teachers will be honored at the Lindback Award for Distinguished Teachers Ceremony at the Philadelphia Film Society on May 21. Each teacher honored will receive a $3,500 award.

For more information, visit