Posted on June 16, 2023
Tags: , ,
Categories: News from SDP

On Thursday, the School District of Philadelphia hosted its 2023 End of the Year School Leader Celebration. Led by the District’s Leadership Development Office, this annual celebration honors the District’s principals and assistant principals and recognizes the 2023 Lindback recipients, First Year Principals, Doctoral Degree Recipients, Philadelphia Academy of School Leaders 2022-2024, Neubauer Fellows in Educational Leadership, Interim Principals, Principal Residents, Aspiring Principals Academy (APA) residents, and 2022-2023 Equity Leader PD Pathway Facilitators.

“We had an incredible school year, thanks to the hard work of our teachers, staff and dedicated school leaders who work to support our students each and every day,” said Superintendent Tony B. Watlington, Sr., Ed.D., who outlined the work accomplished with the support of school leaders and plans for the upcoming school year. “I continue to lead with this notion of ‘nothing for me without me,’ and it was an honor to work collaboratively with school leaders to align the organization and help accelerate progress. I believe the District’s new strategic plan, Accelerate Philly, will support school leaders to help our students realize any future they desire.”

The event, which took place at Samuel Fels High School, featured remarks by Superintendent Watlington, Associate Superintendents Tomás Hanna and Evelyn Nuñez, Ed.D., President of Teamsters Local 502/Commonwealth Association of School Administrators (CASA) President Robin Cooper, Ed.D., and Chief Learning Officer Michael Farrell, Ed.D. There were student performances by Fels Drum Line, Fels Jazz Ensemble and Fels Choir. George Washington High School students Terrell Williams and Rose Da Love Julien served as the emcees.

This year’s retiring principals were also celebrated. Retirees include:

  • Ann Leaness, Assistant Principal, Science Leadership Academy, 33 Years of Service
  • Leslie Mason, Principal, Thomas Mifflin School, 35 Years of Service
  • Victoria Pressley, Ed.D., Principal, John B. Kelly School, 37 Years of Service
  • Crystle Roye-Gill, Ed.D., Principal, Thomas Holme School, 34 Years of Service
  • Arthurea Smith, Principal, Joseph H. Brown School, 34 Years of Service
  • Beverly P. Wallace-Sample, Ed.D., Assistant Principal, Furness High School, 20 Years of Service
  • Amy Williams, Principal, William Dick School, 35 Years of Service
  • Michelle Hayes Flores, Principal, Office of Leadership Development, Leadership Coach, 35.5 Years of Service

Congratulations to all of this year’s retirees and thank you to our school leaders for a wonderful school year!