School Safety Award Recipients

In May, the Office School Safety invited you to nominate your School Safety Officer. We received many nominations from staff, students, and parents. All nominations were reviewed by an internal committee that consisted of their peers. Below are each of the awards with their descriptions and recipients. Thank you for submitting your nominations and helping us to celebrate our School Safety Officers.

School Safety Officer of the Year (Merit Award)

For highly intuitive and valuable acts of safety service, which demonstrates special initiative and perseverance in the performance of their school safety duties. Awarded to any staff member of the Office of School Safety who distinguished themselves by performing their duties in a manner that clearly exceeds what is normally required or expected.

SY21-22: DeWitt Hopkins

Kevin Cutis Award (Humanitarian Award)

This annual award recognizes an officer who, through their actions, is exemplary in their leadership, caring, and commitment to the welfare of humanity. This Officer should be known as an individual who inspires their community to take action, and who selflessly improves and enriches the lives of both their students and greater community.

SY21-22: Elijah Vareen and Ryan Smith

Ricardo Gladden Award (Community Service Award)

This award honors an officer who has made significant contributions to their community through their time, actions, talents and dedication. This includes, but not limited to, participating in afterschool activities, fundraisers, sports, tutoring, and/or serving as a community resource

SY21-22: Jahmall Crandall and Ryan Bradley

Supervisor Darryl Giles Award

Awarded to a School Safety Officer who has exhibited extraordinary de-escalation skills, mentoring and leadership.

SY21-22: Bernadette Ambrose, Cartia Worley, Danielle Hemphill, Dorene Henderson, Eric White, Eunice Anderson, InDira S Cue, Karimah Randolph, Kynisha Johnson and Craig Romanczuk