Danielson Framework for Teaching

The Danielson Framework for Teaching was developed by Charlotte Danielson as a tool to identify the aspects of a teacher’s responsibilities that have been documented through research as promoting improved student learning.  The Framework consists of 4 domains and 22 components:

  • Domain 1: Planning and Preparation
  • Domain 2: Classroom Environment
  • Domain 3: Instruction
  • Domain 4: Professional Responsibilities

The School District of Philadelphia uses 10 components of this tool as our rubric for observation and feedback. It’s important for educators at the District to familiarize themselves with the language in this rubric as it is the shared language used to discuss high quality teaching in our schools.