Lead Safe Certification Program

Overview: Lead Safe Certification

The goal of the Lead Safe Certification Program is to reduce lead-based paint hazards in every school building and ensure that classrooms and other areas are free of paint chips, and lead-containing dust and debris on a daily basis and after every facilities, maintenance or capital project.

What you should know about the District’s Lead Safe Certification Program:

  • Student safety is out first priority!
  • Lead Safe Certification Assessments will be begin in all schools constructed prior to 1978, and other buildings deemed likely to contain lead-based paint.
  • Before a Lead Safe project begins in a school, Certified Lead Inspectors will assess the building to identify conditions of loose, peeling, flaking and crumbling paint and plaster.
  • Families and school communities will be notified at least 10 days prior to an assessment. Assessment results will be posted on this page (below) within 10 days of receipt.
  • The damage found as a result of the assessments will be managed and controlled by the school’s facilities staff until a Lead Safe repairs can be completed.
  • Lead Safe projects are completed and/or supervised by individuals who are trained and certified in United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) lead-based paint renovation, repair and painting (RRP) work practices.
  • Facilities cleaning staff are trained in the District’s lead safe cleaning standards. Routine cleaning will take place in every school to ensure that schools are safe for students on a daily basis.

For more information about lead, please contact the Lead Prevention Unit of the Philadelphia Department of Health at (215) 685-2788 or visit phila.gov/health/childhoodlead.

Test Results: Please search for the most recent assessment results. Check back for letters as the results are continually being updated.

How to read the results: 

  • Click on a link below
  • Use the definitions to the right to interpret the information
  • *Note: Only schools that have been evaluated for a lead safe project have a link. If there is no link, that school has not been evaluated yet. Please check back often for updates.


  • Element = Some campuses have multiple buildings (main building, annex, little school house, etc.). Element denotes the structure that the information is referring to. The main building is typically denoted as “1”.
  • On-Site Room Name = The present day room label/number/assignment as observed the day of the evaluation.
  • Primary Component = The surface being described: W1, W2, W3, W4, Ceiling or Floor. W1, W2, W3, W4 refer to the door wall, left wall, front wall, and right wall respectively upon entering the room.
  • Substrate Material = The type of material underneath the painted surface.
  • Primary Component Damage Quantity (sf) = Total area, in square feet, of damaged paint on any assessed surface.
  • XRF Reading = Our consultants use X-Ray Fluorescence (XRF) to test surfaces for lead presence.  This column shows the results of the XRF tests. The tests produce milligrams per square centimeter measurements.  In Philadelphia, the threshold for whether or not a surface is considered to contain lead presence is 0.7 mg/cm2.  Any reading above that threshold indicates lead presence and anything below indicates no lead presence.
  • Additional Component = Every painted surface in a space beyond the walls, including: doors, frames, rails, radiators, baseboards, window sills, etc.
Alexander AdaireDr. Ethel AllenEthan AllenAdd B. AndersonChester A. Arthur
Bache-Martin (Martin Building)
Bache-Martin (Bache Building)
BartonMary McLeod BethuneJames G. BlaineRudolph Blankenburg
Amedee F. BregyBridesburgBridesburg AnnexHenry A. BrownJoseph H. Brown
William C. BryantLaura H. CarnellJoseph CatharineCayugaChilds
Benjamin B. Comegys
Watson ComlyCook-WissahickonJay CookeWilliam Cramp
Kennedy C. CrossanAnna B. DayStephen DecaturWilliam Dick
Hamilton DisstonJames DobsonTanner DuckreyPaul L. DunbarFranklin S. Edmonds
Lewis ElkinElwoodEleanor C. EmlenLouis H. FarrellD. Newlin Fell
Feltonville IntermediateThomas K. FinletterFitler Academics PlusA. L. FitzpatrickEdwin Forrest
Fox ChaseAnne FrankBenjamin FranklinEdward GideonStephen Girard
Samuel GompersJoseph GreenbergAlbert M. GreenfieldHoratio B. HackettAndrew Hamilton
John HancockAvery D. HarringtonJohn F. HartranftCharles W. Henry
Edward HestonThomas HolmeFrancis HopkinsonHenry H. HoustonJulia Ward Howe
Andrew JacksonJenks Academy Arts & SciencesAbram JenksGen. Philip Kearny
William D. KelleyJohn B. KellyKendertonFrancis Scott KeyEliza B. Kirkbride
Robert E. LambertonHenry W. LawtonHenry C. LeaAnna L. LingelbachAlain Locke
William H. LoescheJames LoganWilliam C. LongstrethJames R. LowellJames R. Ludlow
John MarshallMayfairGen. George A. McCallAlexander K. McClure
Morton McMichaelJohn F. McCloskeyDelaplaine McDanielWilliam McKinleyGen, George G. Meade
William M. MeredithThomas MifflinMitchellJohn Moffet J. Hampton Moore
Robert MorrisAndrew J. MorrisonThomas G. MortonGeorge W. Nebinger
Olney Annex
Overbrook Educational CenterOverbrookJohn M. Patterson
Jospeh PennellSamuel PennypackerPenroseRobert B. PollockPotter-Thomas
Swing Space (Previously Samuel Powel)Prince HallRhawnhurstJames RhoadsRhodes
RichmondRooseveltWilliam RowenGeorge SharswoodShawmont
Isaac A. SheppardPhilip H. SheridanSolomon Solis-CohenSouthwarkSpring Garden
Gilbert SpruanceEdwin M. StantonAllen M. StearneEdward SteelJames J. Sullivan
John H. TaggartBayard TaylorVare-WashingtonLaura W. WaringMartha Washington
John H. WebsterJohn WelshWidener MemorialRichard R. WrightWilliam H. Ziegler
AMY 5 @ James MartinAMY NorthwestBaldiDimner BeeberRoberto Clemente
Russell ConwellFeltonville Arts & SciencesHancock Demonstration @ LaBrumWarren G. HardingAustin Meehan
MYA - Middle Years AltScience Leadership AcademyTildenGen. Louis WagnerGrover Washington Jr.
Woodrow Wilson
Academy @ PalumboArts Academy @ Benjamin RushJohn BartramWilliam W. BodineBuilding 21
CentralConstitutionCreative & Performing ArtsMurrell DobbinsThomas A. Edison
Engineering & ScienceSamuel FelsFrankfordFranklin Learning CenterBenjamin Franklin
Horace FurnessGirard Academic Music ProgramPhila. HS for GirlsHigh School of the FutureHill-Freedman World Academy
Kensington CAPAKensington Health SciencesKensingtonMartin Luther KingLankenau
Abraham LincolnJules E. MastbaumJulia R. MastermanMotivationNortheast
OverbrookParkway Center CityParkway WestParkway NorthwestPenn Treaty
Philadelphia Military AcademyPhiladelphia Virtual AcademyRandolph TechnicalPaul RobesonRoxborough
Walter B. SaulWilliam L. SayreScience Leadership Academy @ BeeberScience Leadership AcademySouth Philadelphia
South Philadelphia Field House
Strawberry MansionSwenson Arts/TechThe LINCThe U SchoolThe Workshop School
George WashingtonWest Philadelphia

Community Resources

Parents with children under 6, read this!

Padres con niños de 6 años o menos, lea esto!

Click here to find services to help you and your family make your home healthier and safer!

Visit here to learn more about lead safety.